Castles, keeps, and forts; eco's RP decor

• The new screenshot contest got me thinking: when's the last time I tried to build something awesome and actually good looking in ARK?

Well it wasn't that long ago actually. Two weeks ago I tried to build a nice looking base on extinction, only to be reminded of the game's limitations when it comes to building. All of a sudden I remembered why I've been sticking to metal boxes for the past two years: it's hard to build anything, the structures are few and restrictive, etc. Yes, there's a few tiers of them all with different looks and aesthetics, but that doesn't mean anything when you can't round the corner of a roof or when the only pieces of furniture you have are a chair and a table.

To cut a long story short, here's two mods I recommend: Castles, Keeps, and Forts (CKF for short), and Eco's RP decor (or really any other mod that adds some furniture and interior pieces to pretty up the rooms of our builds).

PROS:

-More things to do, both for new players and old players that reached the endgame and are bored

-Makes building more fun and challanging, but also more rewarding

-Bases will be prettier, not just random sized boxes

-Both mods play nice with vanilla structures and S+ structures, no need to tear down your old base entirely (though I for one would)

CONS:

-Longer loading times when logging in and hopping maps

-More lag while playing

-Longer freezes while passing by someone's base and you have to load it (maybe this one's just my potato laptop, Idk)

-Potential OP items, as some of them have functionality besides just looks

Despite all of that, I'd love for building to be a bigger part of the PVE experience. Right now, the only difference between PVE and PVP is that you can grind in peace, but the grind gets pointless and boring after a while.

Edited once, last by ExoRipper: Removed a stupid joke. ().

• Gunnsen

Added the Label Declined